Coming up

20160524_172216Well I would first like to say that I am new to this blog thing. But I am slowly getting it figured out. I am a single mother of two amazing teenagers. My oldest who is my daughter and will be turning 16 in only a few short months, and my son who is 14, going on 25! Everything that I do in life is for them two. I am attending college at Chadron State College, I am just starting my Bachelors degree in education. I started out as a para at an elementary school for special needs children, and absolutely loved it. So with that being said that is my passion, and that was my turning point of starting a whole new journey in life and going back to school after being out for 15 years. In my time as a college student, I have had some amazing teachers/mentors that have helped/ pushed me along the way. Without them I probably would have thrown in the towel and quit. And believe me there were plenty of times that I wanted to. But what would that show to my children? To just give up! I want to teach them that no matter how difficult life can be that giving up is not an option! And that the light at the end of the tunnel is brighter than you have ever even imagined it to be. Me as a single Mother, I have worked a lot of “dead end jobs” and was just getting tired of “making ends meet” and wanted a better life for my kids and I. Yeah it has been a struggle and still is, but I do know that it will be worth every little bit of it!

4 thoughts on “Coming up

  1. That is awesome that you are going back to school. I too am a non-trad student with two children that I would do anything for, just like in your writing. I work currently as a para and that is how I got into going into the ed field as well! Great Post, I am new to blogging too but there are some awesome YOUtube tutorials if you get stuck with something.

    Like

    • It sounds like we have a lot in common and can help each other out when we get stuck on something. Thank you for the heads up on Youtube videos, they are my “go to” when I get stuck as well.

      Like

  2. That’s great that you’re going back to school to get your degree. How wonderful that you’ve been able to have some experience with special needs elementary students and know that’s your passion. I think it can be difficult to figure out just what you want to do and where you fit. Since this is a course about learning, and learning often begins in discomfort or at least uncertainty, the beginning of this course is designed to be a crash course in those feelings and experiences! You’ll have the hang of all the tech in no time!

    Like

    • Thank you, it has been a journey so far, but a good journey. I have learned so much! And am looking forward to learning about the tech aspect of it all now. Let’s face it, technology is only growing and we need to be informed of all the new programs out there, so that we can better for our students better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

